Homemade Fruit Roll-ups!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups mixed berries (I used raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, and blackberries)
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened apple juice or water
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 tablespoon honey (you may need more if your berries are really sour)

*If using frozen berries, omit the apple juice and substitute 1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce

Instructions:

  1. Combine all of the ingredients in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Simmer for 20 minutes, until the berries have popped and some of the liquid has evaporated.
  2. Pour the mixture into a blender, then carefully blend until smooth.
  3. Line 2 rimmed baking trays with a SilPat or parchment paper, then pour half of the fruit mixture through a fine mesh sieve and onto the first tray and half onto the second. Use a spatula to lightly spread the mixture evenly across the baking sheet, to about 1/8 inch thick.
  4. If you have a dehydrator with a fan in the back, these will only take about 3 hours on the high (150 degrees) setting. Without a fan, they’ll take about 8-10 hours on 150 degrees. I would assume that a convection oven would also take less time, but have not tried it yet.
  5. You will know they’re done when you touch them lightly with your finger and they are no longer sticky. If the edges get a little too brittle and dry, you can brush a tiny bit of water over it and will be good as new!

 

Alternatives:

A. Using a combination of frozen strawberries, papaya and bananas along with fresh raspberries. I decided to strain the frozen fruit first since there seemed to be so much water. I then put it all in a pan w/o additional liquid and 1 T. honey. I set my convection oven to 170 and within 2 hours they were done!

B. Followed steps 1 and 2, but then added 1/3 cup of gelatin. It only took about 30 min to set in the fridge. The texture is obviously different than the leather, but the same yummy flavor remained. 

C. Using a medley of frozen berries & 1 fresh banana sliced and 1/2 cup of no sugar fruit juice that I had on hand. I also added honey and lemon juice per the recipe. I omitted the lemon zest. After simmering 20 minutes I pureed with a hand blender and then strained to remove the tiny seeds. I baked mine in a normal electric oven at 170F for 5 hrs — I probably could have gone only 4.5 hrs. They turned out excellent.

D. Using a batch of chopped plums that I forgot to can and some blueberries. I did not add any apple sauce or apple juice. I only put in the lemon juice and a tiny bit of honey. I just simmered a little longer because they were frozen. Threw it all in the food processor, strained no.e of it, I put the parchment paper directly on to my hydrator trays and set it for 9 hours. It’s a little tougher than store bought.

E. Using all frozen fruit…so I didnt add any water or juice. I just was careful about not scorching my fruit before it thawed and released all the water. I used organic peaches, raspberries, and a few strawberries. I didnt cook 20 minutes..just enough to thaw and mix in my honey and lemon and zest. I pureed and put on my silicon sheets with seeds. I started out with my (adjustable temp) dehydrator on 100 thinking I’d keep my fruit raw, then realized it did come to a boil so I’d already lost any enzymes I guess. It’s a bit tart b/c I was minimal in sweeteners but it is great.

F. Used stevia instead of honey and used water (not juice) and they turned out great! The lowest my oven went was 170 degrees and it took about 6 hrs before they weren’t sticky. 

 

N.B. If you over cook (dry out) these until they become brittle you can break them up and use them as “sprinkles” on ice cream. If you have any thick spots, they were still gooey so check more thoroughly before taking the trays out.

[c/o http://againstallgrain.com/2012/06/26/homemade-fruit-by-the-foot/]

Leave a Reply

